Forum sponsored by:
Rayburn Tours
Home: Choirs and Choral Music: General discussion:
Der 116. Psalm by Heinrich Schütz


Sep 24, 2005, 8:25 PM

Views: 19979
Der 116. Psalm by Heinrich Schütz


Der 116. Psalm "Das ist mir lieb" (SWV 51) by the great German early Baroque composer Heinrich Schütz (1585-1672) is a setting of Psalm 116 in six sections for five voices (SSATB). This easy-to-read, scholarly edition by Andrew Thomas Kuster puts Schütz's music in modern clefs, retains the original note values, includes English translations, and has keyboard reductions to simplify rehearsal. Incipits show original part names, clefs, time signatures, and ranges. The six sections of Schütz's Psalm setting are: Das ist mir lieb, Stricke des Todes, Der Herr ist gnädig, Sei nun wieder zufrieden, Ich will den heilsamen Kelch nehmen, and In den Höfen. 40 pages. (The name of the composer of this work is also commonly spelled Heinrich Schuetz or Heinrich Schutz, edited by Andrew Kuster.)

Available directly from the publisher:

Or at (ISBN 1-4116-4946-X).