gerontius home page Main Index MAIN
Search Posts SEARCH
Who's Online WHO'S
Log in LOG

Home: Choirs and Choral Music: Repertoire and performance:
Quid commisisti by Heinrich Schütz
Forum sponsored by:
Rayburn Tours



Sep 24, 2005, 8:23 PM

Post #1 of 1 (12040 views)
Quid commisisti by Heinrich Schütz Can't Post


Quid commisisti (SWV 56-60) from Cantiones sacrae by the great German early Baroque composer Heinrich Schütz (1585-1672) is a collection of five motets for four voices (SATB) and optional basso continuo. This easy-to-read, scholarly edition by Andrew Thomas Kuster results from a painstaking reexamination of the original part books, printed in 1625. This edition puts Schütz's music in modern clefs, retains the original note values, includes English translations, and has keyboard reductions to simplify rehearsal. Incipits show original part names, clefs, time signatures, and ranges. The titles of the five motets in this collection are Quid commisisti (SWV 56), Ego sum tui plaga doloris (SWV 57), Ego enim inique egi (SWV 58), Quo nate Dei (SWV 59), and Calicem salutaris accipiam (SWV 59). 36 pages. (This work is also commonly called Five Passion Motets or Fünf lateinische Passionsmotetten, by Heinrich Schuetz or Heinrich Schutz, edited by Andrew Kuster.)

Available directly from the publisher:

Or at (ISBN 1-4116-4945-1).


Search for (options) Developed by Alberon Ltd, Oxford, UK using Gossamer Forum